New things!

I learnt a new term today – ‘ipsative assessment’.

An ipsative assessment in an education/learning context compares a test-taker’s results against his or her previous results. I.e. This is how I measure myself at the gym – I am pleased that I am doing better than I have before. I’m not worried if this meets some external criteria or if I’m better or worse than other people.

This type of assessment is used quite a lot and I am sure we do it ourselves without thinking about it – have I lost weight since I last weighed myself …have I run further than my last attempt at the marathon?

Isn’t this just learning from our mistakes too? Does it need a fancy name…

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

